15-day comment period on draft informal regulations
DTSC is requesting comments on the revised draft informal regulations by December 5, 2014. Comments may be submitted via e-mail to: firstname.lastname@example.org or via regular mail to:
Department of Toxic Substances Control
Attn: Comments on Draft Informal Regulations for the Brake Friction Material Law
P.O. Box 806, Mail/Station Code: SPWP/MS12A
Sacramento, CA 95812-0806
Limiting Copper in Brake Pads
15-day comment period on the revised informal draft regulations for the California Brake Pad Law
DTSC is requesting comments on the revised draft informal regulations for the Brake Friction Material Law (Health and Safety Code sections 25250.50 et.seq.) by December 5, 2014. Comments may be submitted via e-mail to: email@example.com or via regular mail to:
Brake Pad Legislation
On September 27, 2010, Governor Schwarzenegger signed Senate Bill (SB) 346 which will prohibit the sale of automobile brake pads sold in California containing more than trace amounts of copper, certain heavy metals, and asbestos. The purpose of this law is to reduce the amount of copper and other toxic substances released from brakes from entering California’s streams, rivers, and marine environment. This new law bans brake pads containing more than trace amounts of heavy metals and asbestos in 2014 and then also bans brake pads containing more than 5 percent copper in 2021. By 2025, the law reduces the amount of copper allowed to almost zero. Copper is toxic to many aquatic organisms and limiting the copper content of brakes is essential to comply with a federal Clean Water Act mandate, including copper water quality standards and copper total maximum daily loads in California’s urban watersheds.
The law requires that manufacturers comply with laboratory testing and certify with a mark their products comply with the restrictions set for brake pads. DTSC, the Washington State Department of Ecology, and the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Brake Materials Environmental Task Force have developed the criteria for testing and marking brake pads that meet the restrictions listed below. Washington State passed a similar law earlier in 2010 and adopted regulations on October 19, 2012. Since DTSC has not promulgated regulations regarding the testing protocol, marking or the certification agency requirements, the material presented on this web page should be considered for informational purposes only.
The law requires brake friction material manufacturers to certify and mark that their products meet the prohibitions listed above by the restriction date.
What do you need to do now?
Starting in 2014, you will be able to see marking on the product to show that the material meets cadmium, chromium, lead, mercury or asbestos restrictions. The manufacturer is required by law to have their brake friction material certified by a testing certification agency (a.k.a., registrar). To date, the only registrar identified by the industry is NSF International. A list of certified brake friction material formulations can be viewed here.
For questions regarding the Washington State Better Brakes law, please contact Ian Wesley (firstname.lastname@example.org, 360-407-6747).