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GENERAL QUESTIONS 

Q. Why is lead used as an ingredient in jewelry?  
 
A. Lead is used in jewelry-making for several reasons. First, it makes the base metal 
easier to shape and form. Second, it makes jewelry heavier, so it seems more 
substantial. Lastly, lead is cheaper to use than other metals, such as zinc. Lead is 
also sometimes used as a stabilizer in some plastics, such as polyvinyl chloride 
(PVC), which is often incorporated into children’s jewelry items.  
 
Q. Why is lead-containing jewelry a concern?  
 
A. Excessive exposure to lead can cause many health effects, ranging from 
behavioral problems and learning disabilities to organ failure and even death. 
Children 6 years old and younger are more susceptible to adverse health effects 
because their bodies are growing quickly and their brains are still developing. Lead-
containing jewelry poses a particular concern because children often place jewelry in 
their mouths, which can result in lead absorption at dangerous levels or very serious 
health effects if the jewelry is accidentally swallowed.  
 
Q. What is being done to prevent jewelry containing high levels of lead from 
entering the marketplace?  
 
A. California’s Metal-Containing Jewelry Law places limitations on the lead content 
of jewelry. Anyone who manufactures, ships, sells or offers for sale jewelry for retail 
sale or promotion in California must comply with the restrictions specified in the law. 
This law incorporates the terms of a consent judgment resulting from a 2006 
Proposition 65 lawsuit regarding lead in jewelry, applying the requirements of that 
judgment to all parties that manufacture, ship, sell or offer for sale jewelry for retail 
sale or promotion in California.  
 
Other states and cities have also enacted legislation and/or regulations to limit the 
lead content in jewelry, or propose to do so in the future. As of February 10, 2009, 
the federal Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act (CPSIA) has new limits for 
lead in consumer products intended for children 12 years old and under. The U.S. 
Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) has also issued a number of recalls 
recently for lead containing children’s jewelry.  
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Q. How does the California Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) 
enforce the Metal-Containing Jewelry Law?  
 
A. DTSC responds to complaints of jewelry suspected to be out of compliance with 
the law, in addition to conducting marketplace surveillance. DTSC’s enforcement of 
the law is primarily limited to those who were not signatories to a 2006 Proposition 
65 settlement involving a large number of jewelry retailers and businesses (see 
http://ag.ca.gov/prop65/pdfs/amendedConsent.pdf).  
 
Q. How does jewelry containing high levels of lead make its way into the 
marketplace?  
 
A. Jewelry containing high levels of lead is often manufactured in other countries 
and imported into the United States. Most of the jewelry subject to recent U.S. 
Consumer Product Safety Commission (U.S. CPSC) recalls was manufactured in 
China, although some recalled jewelry was manufactured in India and other foreign 
countries.  
 
Q. How widespread is jewelry containing high levels of lead?  
 
A. In the past few years, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (U.S. 
CPSC), which is the federal agency charged with protecting the public from 
unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from consumer products, has 
announced numerous jewelry recalls, mainly for jewelry manufactured in China. 
These recalls were initiated because the U.S. CPSC determined that the jewelry 
contained dangerous levels of lead, thus posing a risk of lead poisoning in children. 
In the recent past, one or more jewelry recalls were announced nearly every month, 
suggesting that the prevalence of lead-containing jewelry may be widespread.  
 
Q. How do stores know if their vendors are providing jewelry containing high 
levels of lead?  
 
A. California’s Metal-Containing Jewelry Law requires that manufacturers provide 
certification that their jewelry meets the requirements of the law either by:  
 

 Providing such certification, upon request, to a person selling the manufacturer’s 
jewelry; or  

 

 Prominently displaying the certification on the shipping container or the jewelry 
packaging.  
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Q. How should I dispose of jewelry if it contains lead and I no longer want it?  
 
A. Parents should immediately take jewelry believed to contain lead away from their 
children. DTSC has not yet determined if jewelry containing lead above the levels 
allowed under the Metal-Containing Jewelry Law would be considered a hazardous 
waste if it is disposed of. Until this determination is made, DTSC recommends that 
all suspected lead-containing jewelry be disposed of in a manner that eliminates any 
access by children.  
 
Q. How do I know if my jewelry is safe?  
 
A. You cannot tell if a piece of jewelry contains lead just by looking at it. A lead 
measurement (using a chemical or spectroscopic test) must be performed. A lead 
swab test, such as those purchased from a hardware store for lead paint detection, 
might indicate if the surface of the jewelry contains lead, but it will probably not 
detect lead present beneath the surface coating. In any case, if parents allow their 
children to wear jewelry, they should monitor their children to ensure jewelry is not 
placed in their mouths.  
 
Q. Can lead be absorbed through the skin?  
 
A. Exposure to lead occurs mainly from ingestion, such as eating or putting objects 
into the mouth, putting young children particularly at risk. Exposure to lead can also 
occur from inhalation, such as breathing lead that is scattered in the air as dust, 
fume or mist. Absorption of lead through the skin from wearing jewelry is not likely to 
pose as large a risk.  
 
Q: What can I do if I believe my child has put lead-containing jewelry into 
his/her mouth?  
 
A: You should consult your health care provider and request a blood test to 
determine whether your child has been exposed to lead recently. A blood lead test is 
the only way you can find out if your child has an elevated blood lead level; however, 
an elevated blood lead level will not tell you if the lead exposure came from lead-
containing jewelry or another source of lead.  
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SPECIFIC QUESTIONS: 

Q. How do I locate an appropriate laboratory to have testing done, and at what 

expense?  

A. The California Department of Public Health maintains a list of accredited 

laboratories at http://www.cdph.ca.gov/certlic/labs/Pages/ELAP.aspx. You can 

contact a lab near you and request cost information for conducting EPA Methods 

3050B, 3051A and 3052 to comply with the Metal-Containing Jewelry Law. Since 

lead limits vary depending on the type of jewelry component, each component type 

must be tested and analyzed separately. The price of testing may vary depending on 

the number of jewelry components and the complexity of the components you have 

tested; laboratories can give you pricing information. 

Note: California’s Metal-Containing Jewelry Law requires the jewelry manufacturer 
or supplier to provide certification regarding the lead content of the jewelry. The 
manufacturer or supplier of jewelry or jewelry components providing the required 
certificate should ensure that the laboratory that tests the jewelry is qualified to do 
the type of testing required, i.e., the laboratory should have familiarity and 
experience with the specified sample preparation and testing techniques required by 
the law. It is in the manufacturer’s or supplier’s best interest to use a qualified 
laboratory. Additionally, the certificate should cover all of the jewelry materials that 
the law requires to be tested. 

Q. I am a very small business owner. Is it my obligation to perform the testing 

described in EPA Methods 3050B, 3051A, and 3052?  

A. If, as a "small business owner," you sell, offer to sell, or offer for promotion 

jewelry in California, it is your obligation to ensure you do not sell or offer to sell or 

promote jewelry that violates California's Metal-Containing Jewelry law.  The law 

does not require you to perform lab testing, however. 

California’s Metal-Containing Jewelry Law requires the jewelry manufacturer or 
supplier to provide certification that that manufacturer’s or supplier’s jewelry does not 
contain a level of lead that would prohibit the jewelry from being sold in California 
pursuant to the law. The manufacturer or supplier must provide that certification 
directly to the person who sells the jewelry or must display the certification 
prominently on the shipping container or packaging of the jewelry. 

DTSC highly encourages businesses that sell, offer to sell, or offer for promotion 
jewelry in California, to obtain certificates of compliance and other detailed 
information about the composition of materials purchased from jewelry component 
suppliers. The law specifies various factors that will be considered when assessing 
penalties for violations, including whether good-faith measures were taken to comply 
with the law. 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/certlic/labs/Pages/ELAP.aspx
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Q. What about people who sell vintage jewelry? How are we supposed to know 

if the jewelry contains lead? These pieces are often one of a kind and could 

contain lead since they were made a long time ago.  

A. Currently, the law does not make a distinction between new and vintage jewelry. 

However, EPA Methods 3050B, 3051A, and 3052 are destructive testing methods; 

therefore, jewelry cannot be salvaged after testing is conducted using these 

methods. DTSC acknowledges that it is not feasible to test one-of-a-kind vintage 

jewelry items using these destructive test methods. Since these older jewelry items 

were made prior to any awareness about the harmful properties of lead and they 

were produced on virtually a “one-of-a-kind” basis, DTSC is currently focusing its 

limited enforcement resources on primarily new and mass-produced jewelry. 

However, as mentioned in the previous question, the only way to know for certain if 
an item is in compliance with the law is to have it analyzed by a laboratory using the 
methods specified in the law (EPA Methods 3050B, 3051A, and 3052). Some 
laboratories may be able to screen your jewelry without destroying it by using X-ray 
fluorescence (XRF) analyzers. XRF screening results can provide you with an 
estimate of the amount of lead and other constituents in your jewelry. However, 
since XRF results are only estimates, they may not necessarily agree with laboratory 
results using EPA Methods 3050B, 3051A, or 3052. 

Vintage jewelry, like all jewelry — regardless of its lead content — should be stored 

in areas away from children. Children should also be monitored to ensure they do 

not put jewelry in their mouths.  

Q. I did not see copper or bronze listed anywhere in the suitable materials list. 

For artists/jewelers working in these materials, should we check with 

suppliers about the lead content?  

A. Copper and bronze would fall under Class 2 materials for adult jewelry. For 

purposes of complying with the law, requirements referring to metal include metal 

alloys, so the percentage of lead allowed in adult jewelry would depend on whether 

the copper or bronze is electroplated or unplated. Metallic materials used in 

children's jewelry must be either a Class 1 material or contain less than 0.06% lead 

by weight, under California law. Please note, however, that under the federal 

Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act (CPSIA), all children's products must 

currently contain less than 0.03% (300 ppm) lead by weight (this restriction will drop 

to 100 ppm August 14, 2011, if technically feasible). The CPSIA defines "children" 

as age 12 and under.  
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DTSC strongly encourages you to check with your suppliers and obtain certificates 

of compliance and other detailed information about the composition of the materials 

you purchase from them.   

Q. Can I sell jewelry containing lead as long as I label that it contains lead?  

A. The requirements under the Metal-Containing Jewelry Law are completely 

separate from Proposition 65 warning requirements. Complying with the Proposition 

65 warning requirements does not relieve you of complying with the requirements in 

the Metal-Containing Jewelry Law. The Metal-Containing Jewelry Law places 

limitations on the amount of lead that can be present in jewelry but does not specify 

any warning requirements. You may still be responsible for warning requirements 

under Proposition 65 if you sell jewelry containing lead and/or other chemicals listed 

under Proposition 65. To find out if your business must comply with the warning 

requirements under Proposition 65, please visit the Office of Environmental Health 

Hazard Assessment’s Proposition 65 Web page at 

http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65.html. 

Q. What are the requirements for body piercing jewelry?  

A. The law defines body piercing jewelry as “any part of jewelry that is manufactured 

or sold for placement in a new piercing or a mucous membrane but does not include 

any part of that jewelry that is not placed within a new piercing or a mucous 

membrane.” Beginning March 1, 2008, a person shall not manufacture, ship, sell, or 

offer for sale body piercing jewelry — the part of the jewelry that is placed directly 

within the new piercing or mucous membrane — for retail sale in California unless it 

is made up entirely of one or more of the following materials: 

 Surgical implant-grade stainless steel, 

 Surgical implant-grade of titanium, 

 Niobium (Nb), 

 Solid 14-karat or higher white or yellow nickel-free gold, 

 Solid platinum, or 

 A dense low-porosity plastic, including but not limited to Tygon or 
Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), if the plastic contains no intentionally added 
lead. 

DTSC will be focusing its enforcement resources on whether the materials used for 
new piercings or mucous membranes contain detectable levels of lead. 

Jewelry that is not placed directly within a new piercing or mucous membrane, such 

as a bead on a belly button ring, must meet the requirements specified for other 

“jewelry.” Therefore, for adult jewelry, any components of the body piercing jewelry 

http://www.oehha.ca.gov/prop65.html
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not placed within a new piercing or mucous membrane must be made entirely from a 

Class 1, Class 2, or Class 3 material, or any combination of these three classes of 

materials. Any jewelry made for children ages 6 and under that is not placed directly 

within a new piercing or mucous membrane, such as any component attached to a 

starter earring stud that does not go directly through the piercing, must meet the 

requirements for “children's jewelry” as defined by the law.  

Q. Is leaded crystal, such as Swarovksi crystal, allowed in jewelry? What are 

the requirements for using leaded crystal in children’s jewelry?  

A. Glass and crystal decorative components used in adult jewelry are considered 

Class 1 materials. There are no lead limits for Class 1 materials used for adult 

jewelry. Therefore, the use of leaded crystal, including Swarovski crystal, may be 

used in adult jewelry. 

With regard to children’s jewelry, the federal Consumer Product Safety Improvement 
Act (CPSIA) restricts lead in all children’s products to 300 ppm (0.03%).  This 
restriction will be lowered to 100 ppm (0.01%) (if feasible) on August 14, 2011. 
Anyone selling children’s jewelry in California must keep these restrictions in mind, 
even when considering California law, as described in the following paragraph. For 
more information on the federal law, go to 
http://www.cpsc.gov/ABOUT/Cpsia/cpsia.HTML. 

Under California law, the use of crystal or glass decorative components in children’s 

jewelry is limited to a total of 1 gram. The law specifies that glass or crystal 

decorative components that contain less than 0.02% (200 ppm) lead by weight and 

have no intentionally added lead are not part of the 1 gram calculation. In other 

words, the use of Swarovski crystal (or any other crystal 0.02% (200 ppm) or higher 

in lead) in children’s jewelry is limited to 1 gram total. Crystal or glass components 

containing less than 0.02% (200 ppm) lead by weight with no intentionally added 

lead may be used in children’s jewelry without any weight limitations. This assumes 

the crystal components do not exceed the prevailing federal limit for 

children’s products.  

Q. As a manufacturer or supplier of jewelry, do I need to provide certification 

no matter what type of material I use?  

A. The manufacturer or supplier of jewelry must be able to provide certification that 

the jewelry (including each component) does not contain a level of lead that would 

prohibit the jewelry from being sold or offered for sale in California, pursuant to 

California’s Metal-Containing Jewelry law, no matter what material is used to 

make the jewelry.  

http://www.cpsc.gov/ABOUT/Cpsia/cpsia.HTML
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Q. Does the law apply to anyone selling online and then shipping to 

California?  

A. Yes, the law applies to anyone who manufactures, ships, sells, or offers for sale 

jewelry for retail sale in California, including online establishments. 

 
Return to DTSC’s Lead in Jewelry home page 

 


