Hazardous Waste Facility Permit

Any person who stores, treats or disposes of hazardous waste as described in the Hazardous Waste Control Laws (Health and Safety Code, Division 20, Chapter 6.5) must obtain a permit or a grant of authorization from DTSC.

What is RCRA?

The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) is the federal statute that regulates facilities that treat, store or dispose of hazardous waste.

What is RCRA hazardous waste?

RCRA hazardous waste means all waste identified as a hazardous waste in Part 261 (commencing with section 261.1) of subchapter I of chapter 1 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations and it appendices.

What is non-RCRA hazardous waste?

All hazardous waste regulated in the California, other than RCRA hazardous waste.

Tiered Permitting

California has a five-tiered permitting program which matches the statutory/regulatory requirements imposed upon each category of hazardous waste facility to the degree of risk posed by them. The five permitting tiers, in descending order of regulatory oversight are:

1. The Full Permit Tier

Includes all facilities requiring a RCRA permit, plus selected non-RCRA activities pursuant to Title 22 California Code of Regulations (22 CCR)

2. The Standardized Permit Tier

A facility that manages waste not regulated under RCRA, but regulated as a hazardous waste in California (i.e., non-RCRA hazardous waste). These facilities include, but are not limited to recyclers, oil transfer stations, and precious metal recyclers. Onsite facilities that not regulated under RCRA (e.g., generators that treat their hazardous waste) are also eligible for a Standardized Permit.

3. The Permit by Rule (PBR) Tier

A non-RCRA onsite treatment permit for specific waste streams and treatment processes, such as concentrated metal-bearing wastes, concentrated acids or alkalies, wastes posing multiple hazards, and silver recovery.

4. The Conditional Authorization (CA) Tier

A non-RCRA hazardous waste onsite treatment authorization for specific waste streams such as metal-bearing waters, and mostly single-hazardous wastes, some neutralization, and oil/water separation.

5. The Conditional Exemption (CE) Tier

A non-RCRA hazardous waste onsite treatment authorization for small-quantity treatment and other low-risk treatment, including oil-water separation, container rinsing or destruction, gravity settling, and some neutralization.