Hazardous Waste Manifest Information
A hazardous waste manifest must accompany most hazardous waste that is shipped off site. The Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest is the shipping document that travels with hazardous waste from the point of generation, through transportation, to the final treatment, storage, and disposal facility (TSDF). Each party in the chain of shipping, including the generator, signs and keeps one of the manifest copies, creating a "cradle-to-grave" tracking of the hazardous waste. Identification (ID) numbers are needed by all parties on the manifest. Hazardous waste transporters in California must be registered with the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC).
Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest System (e-Manifest)
On Saturday, June 30, 2018, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) launched the Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest System (e-Manifest). The system will improve access to higher quality and more timely hazardous waste shipment data and save industry and states valuable time and resources.
e-Manifest System | View
For Generators | View
For Receiving Facilities | View
For Transporters | View
For TSDFs | View
Register as an Industry User in RCRAInfo
Monthly Webinars | View
Adding Your California State ID Number Into RCRAInfo
California State Identification (ID) numbers are currently not in RCRAInfo. DTSC is working on options to integrate CA State ID numbers into the RCRAInfo system. In the interim, DTSC will manually enter your CA State ID number into RCRAInfo, after you have completed the following process:
Any questions can be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Manifest Regulations and Statutory Change History
Buying Manifest Forms
On and after June 30, 2018: The existing 6-copy uniform manifest form is being replaced with a new 5-copy form. New manifest forms are sold by U.S. EPA approved registered printers listed in the Manifest Registry. U.S. EPA will accept Page 1 copies of the obsolete 6-copy forms for processing after June 30, 2018, however they strongly recommend that users transition to the 5-copy form as quickly as possible. If a user would like to continue to use the obsolete 6-copy form, they should undertake measures to minimize confusion. For example, one approach (although not a requirement) could include applying a pre-printed adhesive label to the top copy with the accurate copy distribution language, "designated facility to EPA's e-Manifest system".
Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest: Instructions, Sample Form, and Continuation Sheet
On October 5, 2012, U.S. EPA published regulations that significantly changed the manifest form and procedures. They mandated the national use of a new Uniform Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest (e-Manifest) System that was implemented on June 30, 2018.
Manifest Submission to DTSC
Under California law, generators will still be required to send the generator copy of the manifest to DTSC by mail. The only exception is when a manifest starts and finishes as an electronic manifest in the e-Manifest system.
The generator will send a legible copy to DTSC within 30 days of the shipment date to:
DTSC Generator Manifests
The TSDF will submit all manifests, both paper and electronic, to U.S EPA within 30 days of the receipt date to:
EPA e-Manifest PPC
Manifest Report Repository
Manifest Exception Reports
According to 40 CFR 262.42, if a generator has not received a signed copy of the manifest from the TSDF within 35 days of the date the waste was accepted by the initial transporter, the generator is required to contact the transporter and TSDF to determine the status of the waste shipment.
If after contacting both the TSDF and transporter, the generator still has not received a signed copy of the manifest, the generator is then required to file an Exception Report with DTSC.
A generator files an Exception Report within:
The Exception Report must include the following:
Send Exception Reports to:
TSDF Report Repository
Significant Discrepancy Reports
According to 40 CFR section 264.72(b), if a TSDF owner or operator discovers a significant discrepancy in quantity or type of waste on a manifest, the TSDF owner or operator must attempt to reconcile the discrepancy with the waste generator or transporter (e.g., with telephone conversations). If the discrepancy is not resolved within 15 days after receiving the waste, the TSDF owner or operator must immediately submit to DTSC, a letter describing the discrepancy and the attempts made to reconcile it, along with a copy of the manifest or shipping paper at issue.
Send Significant Discrepancy Reports to:
DTSC Report Repository
Unmanifested Waste Reports
If a facility accepts for treatment, storage or disposal of any hazardous waste from an off-site source without an accompanying manifest or without an accompanying shipping paper as described in the California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 66263.20(e)(2), and if the waste is not excluded from the manifest requirement, then the owner or operator must prepare and submit a copy of the report to DTSC within 15 days after receiving the waste. The Unmanifested Waste Report must be submitted in the form of a letter, with such report designated as "Unmanifested Waste Report" and include the following information:
Send Unmanifested Waste Reports to:
Unmanifested Waste Report
Exception Reports for Exporters
According to the California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 66262.55 and in lieu of the requirements of the California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 66262.42, a primary exporter shall file an Exception Report with DTSC for RCRA and non-RCRA hazardous waste if:
For exporters by water to foreign countries, if the generator has not received a copy of the manifest signed by all transporters and the facility operator 60 days after the initial shipment, the generator shall contact the owner or operator of the designated facility to determine the status of the hazardous waste and to request that the owner or operator immediately provide a signed copy of the manifest to the generator.
The primary exporter shall submit the Exception Report to DTSC at:
DTSC Report Repository
Manifest Correction Letters
A manifest correction letter must be sent to DTSC whenever hazardous waste manifests submissions contain incorrect or incomplete information. Per California Health and Safety Code, section 25160.5, DTSC is authorized to charge a $20 manifest correction fee when DTSC discovers the errors and requests a manifest correction letter. DTSC will not charge the fee if the company submits the manifest correction letter before being notified by DTSC of the error.
To submit a letter, please provide the manifest corrections on company letterhead, and include the following information:
Send manifest correction letters to:
Common Manifest Errors
Below are common errors to avoid when completing manifest forms:
DTSC Fact Sheets
Please note that some of the older fact sheets contain out-dated manifest information, which DTSC is correcting and updating. Please use them in conjunction with the other information on this web page.
Search for Specific Manifests or Verify an ID Number
DTSC maintains the Hazardous Waste Tracking System that stores ID number information since the early 1980s and manifest data since 1993. Basic information is available to the public through 10 reports. The system collects both manifest copies from the generator and destination facility. Please note that in 2004 and 2005, many manifests did not match correctly, which resulted in duplicate manifests and tonnage counts. Therefore, totals in those years may be overstated. DTSC is working on correcting this data loading problem.
Federal Requirement Information and Links
Below are links to helpful resources:
View the two fact sheets provided below regarding consolidated manifesting:
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Under the new e-Manifest system, are TSDFs still required to send a paper copy of the manifest back to the generator?
Before the TSDFs can cease mailing paper copies to their generator customers, the TSDFs will need to determine that their generator customers in fact are registered with e-Manifest and have opted to monitor their accounts and image files for their manifest records.
Under the e-Manifest system, paper manifests are processed and image files of each paper manifest will be uploaded to the system or created by the system’s processing center, there will be an image file of each final manifest available for registered generators with e-Manifest accounts. Thus, registered generators can use the image file stored in their accounts to meet their requirement to retain a copy of the final manifest.
If generators do not create e-Manifest accounts for viewing manifests, the TSDFs will continue to provide paper copies of completed manifests to the generator per the recordkeeping requirements in 40 CFR part 262.
Q. Will “California only” ID numbers be accepted in the e-Manifest system or will thousands of businesses that want to use e-Manifest be required to obtain federal EPA ID numbers?
California only waste handlers are not required to obtain a federal EPA ID number. DTSC is currently working on options to integrate CA ID numbers into RCRAInfo. In the meantime, DTSC will manually enter the CA ID number into the RCRAInfo system by having handlers complete the following process:
Q. Will sites utilizing the hybrid and paper options still be responsible for sending a “generator” copy of the manifest to DTSC?
With the launch of the federal e-Manifest system, under California law, generators will still be required to send the generator copy of the manifest to DTSC by mail. The only exception is when a manifest starts and finishes as an electronic manifest in the e-Manifest system.
Q. Will manifests data/images/reports still be available to regulators through HWTS for sites that utilize e-Manifest?
DTSC is currently working with the U.S. EPA to extract manifest data from the e-Manifest system into HWTS. DTSC is waiting for the technology to become available from the U.S. EPA. Regulators can request access to the e-Manifest system. Please go to the “How to Register for e-Manifest” page at https://www.epa.gov/e-manifest/e-manifest-user-registration and refer to the Attention: State Users section.
Q. Since electronic manifests does not come from a printer, what suffix (JJK, GBF, SKS) will be on the manifests? How will this be reflected when required to be recorded on consolidated manifest receipts?
The e-Manifest system autogenerates the manifest number. This should not impact how the information is recorded on the consolidated manifest receipt.
Q. How will the e-Manifest system handle Manifest Discrepancy Reports?
E-manifest does not currently displace the existing discrepancy reporting. Please continue to send Discrepancy Reports to DTSC.